St Pauls, Marathi Vidyaniketan win Titles in District level Football

BELGAUM SEPT 21 : St Pauls School (Belgaum City) and Marathi Vidyaniketan School (Belgaum City) emerged victorious in the Boys and Girls category respectively in Belgaum District Level School Football tournament held at Lele ground Tilakwadi. The event was organised by Education department. Both the teams have qualified for State Level Football tournament.

In the Finals of High School section Boys category St Pauls School representing Belgaum City defeated Chandargi Sports School in a lopsided final match by a margin of 5-0 goals. Abhishek Cherekar, Rohan D’souza, Ciril Lobo, Joel D’mello and Amrut Mannolkar scored one goal each for St Pauls School.

In the Finals of Girls category Marathi Vidyaniketan School representing Belgaum City defeated Bailhongal in Penalties by a slender margin of 2-1. The match ended in scoreless draw in full time. Gayatri Desai and Anjana Hindalgekar scored for Marathi Vidyaniketan on Penalties and deepa Jigari scored for Bailhongal.

Chief Guest Arvind Halgekar, Vijaykumar Kambale, Ashok Shintre, Bapusaheb Desai and Jaisingh Dhanaji  gave away the prizes to the winners and Runners up.